2009 Workshop on Numerical Modeling of Crustal Deformation and Earthquake Faulting

Golden, Colorado

Announcement for the 2009 Workshop on Numerical Modeling of Crustal Deformation and Earthquake Faulting

The focus of this gathering is on computational models addressing crustal deformation with an emphasis on the seismic cycle across single and multiple events. The workshop will blend science talks on case studies from particular faulting environments and on key rheological behavior with discussions of current obstacles to crustal deformation modeling.

As in previous years, topics will span a variety of computational issues including how to go from a geologic structural model to a finite-element model, various numerical issues such as choosing discretization schemes and meshing strategies, and consideration of different bulk and fault zone rheologies. Another explicit goal of this workshop is to provide basic training in the installation, use, and customization of existing, freely available modeling software for crustal deformation. There will be dedicated time throughout the workshop for hands-on interaction with other users and developers of the primary existing tools.

This workshop will be held from June 22-26, 2009, in Golden, Colorado on the campus of the Colorado School of Mines. The first four days (Monday-Thursday) will be a mixture of science talks, discussion, and hands-on tutorials. The fifth day (Friday) will be dedicated to informal tutorials and collaboration. We are able to provide reimbursement for a portion of the costs incurred for registered attendees with official appointments at U.S. institutions. There are no registration fees. Registration will be limited to 60 attendees.

Workshop Information

Confirmed Speakers

  • Brad Aagaard (USGS)
  • Tabrez Ali (Purdue)
  • Jean-Philippe Avouac (Caltech)
  • Wolfgang Bangerth (Texas A&M)
  • Roger Buck (Columbia)
  • Peter Cervelli (USGS)
  • Reid Cooper (Brown)
  • Carl Gable (LANL)
  • Elizabeth Hearn (UBC)
  • Eric Hetland (Michigan)
  • Kaj Johnson (Indiana)
  • Ole Kaven (Stanford)
  • Rowena Lohman (Cornell)
  • Greg Lyzenga (Harvey Mudd)
  • Chris Marone (Penn St)
  • Mike Oskin (Davis)
  • Jay Parker (JPL)
  • Paul Segall (Stanford)
  • Mark Simons (Caltech)
  • Robert Viesca (Harvard)
  • Charles Williams (GNS Science)


  • Posters

    If you are interested in bringing a poster, please e-mail us with the approximate size, authors, and poster title so that we can ensure the proper display area.

  • Travel Information
    • Reimbursement Information
      • Important: Reimbursement Details
      • Only participants with official U.S. appointments will receive partial reimbursement of travel expenses.
      • Air travel must be done on a US carrier in order to be reimbursed.
  • Lodging

    Lodging in 55 dorm rooms in Weaver Towers (same as last two years) will be covered for registered participants from U.S. institutions. Rooms are single occupancy in a suite format with 5-6 rooms per suite and 2 shared bathrooms. Sign up for dorm accommodations by indicating your preferences on the registration form.

    Participants may choose to stay in a hotel but will not be reimbursed for their lodging expenses. Local hotels include the Table Mountain Inn (800-762-9898) and the The Golden Hotel (303-215-4156). If you choose to stay in one of the hotels and cover your own lodging, you must make your own hotel reservations.

  • Airport Shuttle

    Participants (except invited speakers) should expect to cover their own transportation to/from the airport. Renting a car is strongly discouraged because you will not need a car while in Golden. We recommend Super Shuttle (800-258-3826). Allow up to an hour and a half for the trip. For those departing Thu or Fri, we will try to coordinate shuttle reservations at the workshop for traveling from Golden to the airport.

  • Maps

Workshop sponsors include:


Computational Infrastructure for Geodynamics (CIG) Southern California Earthquake Center (SCEC) National Science Foundation (NSF) National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Sign In